Share and Export Notebooks
Exporting Notebook Contents
You can export Notebook contents by clicking the get_app Export button on top of the Notebook list. It is possible to export in the following formats: CSV, formatted citations for various citation styles (Chicago, APA, MLA, Harvard), RefMan (RIS), EndNote, and BibTeX. Please note that these exports do not include the text of each paragraph, but rather store the URL to the paragraph in eHRAF, along with the citation information.
You can also select paragraphs individually by clicking on the OWC name or identifier on the left of the result. This will display the result list as a checkbox list, where you can check and uncheck the paragraphs you wish to export. If no paragraphs are currently selected, you can click the check_box_outline_blank select button to select all paragraphs on the current page. Click the check_box select button again to deselect all paragraphs on the page. If you have individually selected some paragraphs, you can also click the indeterminate_check_box select button to deselect all paragraphs.
By default, a Notebook is private and cannot be viewed by anyone else, even if they have a link to the Notebook. There are two places where you can share Notebooks: next to the name of a Notebook on the Show All Notebooks page, and on the top left when browsing a Notebook contents page. When you click on the share share button in either location, the same share menu will appear. This gives you the option to share a Notebook two ways: with a sharable link or with another eHRAF account.
If you click the
Get Sharable Link text at the top right of the share menu, the Notebook will b e able to be viewed by anyone logged into an eHRAF account who visits the URL of the Notebook. The Notebook’s URL will also appear on the screen and will be copied to your clipboard. You can then send this URL to anyone. Note that they will only be able to view the Notebook with this link. They will not be able to add or remove paragraphs or add labels.
If you know the email address of another user with an eHRAF account, you can put their email address in the text box below
Add People. Below that is a button labeled
Can Collaborate which you can turn on or off. If it is on, the user account will be able to add or remove paragraphs, add labels, and share the Notebook with others. If you turn the button off, they will only be able to view the Notebook. Click
Send to confirm the sharing of the Notebook with that user account.
Viewing a Notebook Shared With You
If someone shares a Notebook with your specific user account, it will appear in your list of Notebooks. When you first view it, or when you visit a link to a shared Notebook for the first time, a menu will appear titled
Pending Notebook. You can then choose to accept or decline the Notebook. If you don’t want to add the Notebook to your list of Notebooks, decline the Notebook. Otherwise, you may accept it to add it to your list of Notebooks.
If the person who shared it with you made you a collaborator, you will be able to make modifications to the Notebook such as adding or removing paragraphs, adding labels, and sharing the Notebook with more people. Otherwise, you will only be able to view the paragraphs and labels that the creator added to the Notebook.
There are two ways to tell whether or not you can modify a Notebook. On the left sidebar list, Notebooks that you can modify have an outlined unlocked icon, while Notebooks you may only view have a solid lock icon. On the list of Notebooks, the Role column will say
Read Only for Notebooks you cannot modify, and
Collaborative (for Notebooks shared with you) or
Owner (for Notebooks you create) for Notebooks you can modify.